Becoming an Apprentice in Your 20s: A Path to Success and Skill Mastery
Interview

Becoming an Apprentice in Your 20s: A Path to Success and Skill Mastery

Recently, I shared with you my apprenticeship story of how I made the decision to become an apprentice in my 20s, specifically at the age of 25.

I wanted to provide a view of apprenticeships that a lot of people may not have been aware of.

That you can be an adult and still choose this particular path to begin building a career.

With that, I had a thought.

A colleague of mine, Dannielle, who I am about to introduce you to, is doing an apprenticeship at the same time as me.

In fact, she is doing the same apprenticeship as me, just in a different department.

I’ve invited her onto the blog to share her apprenticeship journey thus far and help push the point I was making that much further.

So without further ado, here is what Dannielle had to say on the matter:


Hi. Thanks for joining me. To start with, please introduce yourself and share what you do.

Hi all! My name is Dannielle. I’m a 27-year-old Digital Content Apprentice at my local council. I’m currently seven months into the Digital Content Producer apprenticeship, which is a level 3 qualification.

Now, just like me, you chose to become an apprentice in your 20s. Could you please share what made you apply for an apprenticeship now instead of applying for jobs in general?

The apprenticeship is in a field I was interested in working in, but at the time, I didn’t have enough experience to go straight into a job in content or marketing.

I also liked that I could gain valuable skills and learn on the job while earning a monthly wage. Plus, it’s great to know I will get a qualification at the end of my course.

A nice introduction to a new industry to help build my confidence, which it really has!

Fantastic to hear. I understand what you mean about the experience. The amount of jobs today that require a certain level of experience but without the opportunities to obtain that, is ridiculous. So I’m glad this route has given you the chance to pursue what you actually want to do.
Before this, what were you doing, and had you considered an apprenticeship previously?

I have a degree in event management, which I never pursued because, again, I didn’t have the experience to do so. I then got a job at an insurance company doing admin and claims.

I knew that this was not what I wanted to do, so I took the plunge one day and left.

It wasn’t until I saw the position come up for my role that I considered an apprenticeship. I thought I would be too old and wouldn’t be eligible because I have a degree.

For me, I knew university was never going to be an option. It really didn’t suit me. The apprenticeship route seemed to be the only valid option for me moving forward.
Anyway, for me, the hiring process was quick and, dare I say it, hassle-free. It was only the start date that was the issue.
What was the hiring process like for you?

I applied for the job by filling out the application form and sending in my CV along with a cover letter explaining why I would be a good fit for the role.

Much like a “normal job,” I was invited for an interview with two of the team leads. It was a straight-forward process, and thankfully I got the call to say I was successful and had gotten the job.

I remember getting that call also. It was an unexpected moment, but a relief to find out.
Following on from that thought, when you found out the job was actually yours, how did you feel at that moment?

When I found out I got the job, I was seriously thrilled.

I remember them also telling me I wouldn’t be working on the team I had originally applied for, which made me slightly nervous, but I was just happy to have the opportunity to get started.

Well, I’ve been told at countless intervals in my life that nerves are a good thing, so take that as a positive.
As you’ve said previously, you are about seven months into this apprenticeship. With that in mind, how do you feel the process is going now compared to when you first started?

I’ve definitely gotten used to the work-coursework balance.

It was strange starting out as an apprentice, but now I’m starting to get more and more responsibilities as time goes on. I’ve well and truly found my feet in my role.

Finding that balance can be difficult, though, so it’s good to hear you are managing it well. Maybe I need to learn from you more.
How do you feel you have changed personally since starting the apprenticeship?

I’ve become more confident in my work; I can take on new challenges and tasks and successfully complete them. I’ve also learned to appreciate my own efforts more.

I’d even go so far as to say I feel happier overall, especially knowing that my work has a real purpose.

I’m glad you mentioned confidence growth because that’s important and could be a major factor in someone shying away from applying for a role like this. So let’s say someone were in the same position now and considering an apprenticeship. What advice would you give to them?

I would tell them to absolutely just go for it and not be afraid to gain the skills and experience they need to succeed.

It’s important to take advantage of all the learning opportunities that come your way.

Oh, and make sure to set time aside to complete coursework so you’re not panicking to get everything done at the last minute.

Very true. I couldn’t agree more. That last point, especially.
Anyway, we both have about 8 months left of our apprenticeships. Once it’s over, what are your goals moving forward?

I would love to continue down the content and marketing route. Also, furthering my experience in the industry as a whole would be a bonus.

I feel like a psychic here, because I was genuinely hoping you’d say that. I appreciate you backing up my suspicions.
Finally, to end on a fun note, share an interesting fact about yourself. Something to show who you are outside of your work life, and maybe something I won’t even have learned about you yet.

Believe it or not, I used to be a Latin and ballroom dancer. I even did competitions and shows up and down the country. How about that?

Wow. That’s actually incredible. Thanks for sharing.

I’m grateful to Dannielle for doing this and allowing me to share her story in this way.

If you’ve read this post first and are looking for Part 1, where I discuss the details of my apprenticeship journey, make sure to read that now here.

And because I’m interested in remaining impartial, I have a Part 3 lined up, which will show a route other than apprenticeships, just in case that isn’t the option for you.

Make sure to follow me for more content like this. Click the dropdown above my head at the top of this page to do just that.

Chloe Lauren
Standard

9 thoughts on “Becoming an Apprentice in Your 20s: A Path to Success and Skill Mastery

  1. Pingback: What happened in March 2023? | Life Past Twenty Four

  2. Pingback: An honest Conversation on Returning to University to Pursue Your Goals | Life Past Twenty Four

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.